Working Effectively with Survivors of Violence Impacted by Traumatic Brain Injury and Strangulation

Registrations: 158

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Nov 7th, 2024 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Nov 7th, 2024 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Nov 7th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Nov 7th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Trauma-informed approaches recognize the presence of trauma symptoms and acknowledge the role trauma may play in an individual’s life. It is the predominant framework used in victim services agencies and many different other systems. This training will discuss strategies to better support people impacted by brain injuries in your services. We will introduce CARE, Ohio’s evidence-based framework developed by the Ohio Domestic Violence Network and The Ohio State University. CARE brings brain injury awareness to trauma-informed approaches and focuses on awareness, accessibility and accommodations that strengthen our systems. We also will share ODVN’s free, practical, hands-on, tools available to raise awareness and address brain injury with survivors, as well as within your organization and in your multidisciplinary collaborations.

 

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Advocate/Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

Or Click here to view and register for other upcoming Domestic Violence webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

 


 

NACP and D-SAACP Advocates can earn 1 CEU by attending this webinar through the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP). Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Advocacy (NOVA) is dedicated to the professionalization, leadership and future of the victim advocacy field. To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
9 months ago
Concussions Caused by Domestic Violence
Traumatic brain injuries (TBI) and concussions cause long-term problems and potential disabilities. […]
1 year ago
The Long-Term Impacts of Non-Fatal Strangulation
Strangulation is the ultimate act of power and control – the ability to inflict pain and even caus […]
1 year ago
Thoughts on Survivors of Strangulations from Rachel Ramirez
What a powerful statement Rachel Ramirez made during her 2-part webinar series, "The Invisible Epide […]
1 year ago
Online Course: An Introduction to Trauma Informed Victim Advocacy
The way we support victims and survivors can shape how they recover and move on from the most challe […]