When Your Investigation Becomes an International Crisis: The PIO’s Role During Major Events

Registrations: 8

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jun 23rd, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Jun 23rd, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Jun 23rd, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Jun 23rd, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Today’s public information officer (PIO) has to juggle providing timely, accurate information to the public while protecting the integrity of sensitive investigative information in the face of crisis.  The Public & Governmental Affairs Office for the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, the criminal investigative agency for the state, is no different.  The summer of 2020 proved to be their busiest and most challenging yet: In May 2020, a cellphone video from a South Georgia incident that occurred in February went viral, leading to demonstrations and inquiries from the media and the public from around the world. Later that month, events in Minneapolis sparked civil unrest worldwide, including Georgia.  During the height of these protests, another incident occurred in Atlanta that led to even further unrest…all during a global pandemic.

    Anyone attending this webinar will learn:

    • Key steps to take to prepare for a crisis. It’s not a matter of ‘if’ a PIO will deal with a crisis but ‘when’ a PIO will meet a crisis head-on.
    • Messaging strategies for high-profile incidents.
    • After action items to handle post-crisis.

     

    Click here to view and register for other upcoming PIO, Social Media and Communications webinars on the JCH Platform.

     

     

    Additional Resources
    11 months ago
    Preparation is Key: Ensuring Your Chief is Ready for Media Interviews
    Dealing with critical incidents is a default setting for those working in the law enforcement arena. […]
    3 years ago
    Breaking Your Own News: Telling Your Story on Your Own Terms
    Technology helped a lot for people to keep in touch and stay updated whether it is with other people […]
    3 years ago
    Thoughts on Crisis Management
    Dan Linskey, Superintendent-in-Chief of the Boston Police Department during the Boston Marathon bomb […]
    4 years ago
    Crisis Communications Lessons From the Aurora Movie Theater Shooting: an Interview with Cassidee Carlson
    As first responders address the immediate, critical and life-or-death needs of those affected by a m […]
    X