Use-of-Force Constitutional Standards versus Force Continuum

Registrations: 403

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Force options are different than force standards, but both are important. Correctional officers must be trained about Force Standards (Fourth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments) so they know how their force will be evaluated in civil trials. Force options play a critical role in what force strategies are selected and used in each situation. John G. Peters, Jr., Ph.D. will explain the impact of the Unites States Supreme Court holding in Kingsley v. Hendrickson. Dr. Peters was the expert witness for the correctional deputies in the original trial and the second trial after the case was remanded by the Supreme Court.

     

     


     

    The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

     


     

     

    Additional Resources
    4 years ago
    Use of Force: Integrating Communications, Assessment, and Tactics
    With the recent shooting at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, lots of law enforcement and legislative i […]
    4 years ago
    Infographic: Use of Force
    In the course of doing their jobs, officers often have to make split-second decisions — dec […]
    4 years ago
    Understanding the Use of Force: An Interview with Tim Miller
    Law Enforcement Officers are there to "protect and serve." It often part of why they sign up. It's o […]
    4 years ago
    Use of Force and Officer Safety: An interview with Dr. Jeff Fox, PhD
    No one becomes an officer wanting to use excessive force to detain or apprehend people. But in th […]
    X