Understanding the Impact of Police Body Worn Cameras on Public Defenders

Registrations: 459

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jan 14th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Jan 14th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Jan 14th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Jan 14th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Police body-worn cameras (BWCs) have primarily been discussed from the perspective of police. As the primary users of the technology, this makes sense. But the implementation of a BWC program has ripple effects on other stakeholders, especially downstream criminal justice actors. An increasing amount of attention has been paid to prosecutors, but the defense has been virtually ignored, especially public defenders. In this webinar, we will discuss the benefits and challenges of police BWCs faced by public defenders.

     

     

    Webinars with this Speaker

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming ASEBP webinars on the JCH Platform.

     


     

    The American Society of EvidenceBased Policing is a non-profit organization started by working police officers designed to drive the national conversation towards ensuring that the least harmful, most effective, fairest, and safest strategies are employed to prevent crime, reduce harm, and improve community wellness.

     

     

     


     

    Additional Resources
    8 months ago
    Making Sense of the Current State of Body Worn Camera Research
    Body-worn cameras (BWCs) may be seen as the future of law enforcement, and the use of the technology […]
    1 year ago
    Beyond Body-Worn: Boulder County’s Digital Evidence Strategy
    Body-worn cameras is the future of policing as more and more law enforcement agencies are proactivel […]
    2 years ago
    Research and Policy Issues Use of Body-worn Cameras: An Interview with Dr. Michael White
    Police body cameras were initially heralded as a landmark in policing: as a way to not only monitor […]
    Body Camera Programs
    2 years ago
    What Law Enforcement Agencies Need to Know to Implement a Successful Body-Worn Camera Program
    Two critical cases that shone the light on the issue of use of force took place in 2014. The death o […]
    X