Understanding Sexual Abuse Examinations in Investigation and Prosecution Efforts

Registrations: 1787

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Dec 1st, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Dec 1st, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Dec 1st, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Dec 1st, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Protective parents, investigators, & prosecutors, are sometimes confused by the fact that there are two (& sometimes three) different types of child sexual abuse examinations that may pertain to the same case for different reasons.  Even more confusing is the fact that different findings & outcomes are commonly associated with the various types & timing of sexual examinations.  During this presentation the presenters will:

    • Differentiate & discuss emergent, delayed, & confirmatory sexual abuse examinations.
    • Discuss the different types of medical findings most often associated with each type of examination.
    • Discuss why a sexual abuse examination of any type might be normal despite clear & firm victim’s disclosures of abuse.
    • Discuss the therapeutic effects of “normal” sexual abuse examinations.
    • Differentiate medical history taking interviews of victims from forensic interviews.
    • Discuss the need for on- going victim support after the examination.

     

    This is part of a 3-part series:

     

     

    Additional Resources
    10 months ago
    Thoughts on the Effects of Childhood Trauma from Duane Bowers
    Duane Bowers' webinars are always so educational and informative -- none more so than his incredible […]
    11 months ago
    Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Abuse Cases
    Proving abuse can be infuriating. Victims are questioned on the validity of the claim of abuse and a […]
    1 year ago
    The Impact of Trauma on Child Development: What justice professionals needs to know
    Through numerous courses tackling trauma here on Justice Clearinghouse, we’ve established its detr […]
    1 year ago
    Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children
    Living in a home where domestic violence occurs tend to have a negative effect to its inhabitants. I […]
    X