Understanding Alzheimer’s and Dementia for First Responders

Registrations: 681

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jan 18th, 2024 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Jan 18th, 2024 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Jan 18th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Jan 18th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

The Alzheimer’s disease epidemic continues to grow. More than 70% of people with dementia live at home, and as a first responder, it’s critical to be prepared to face it in your community. People with Alzheimer’s or another dementia can unknowingly put themselves and others in dangerous situations and understanding the disease is key to ensuring you make the right response.

The “Understanding Alzheimer’s and Dementia for First Responders” program prepares you to identify the disease and appropriately respond to common calls involving a person with dementia. It also connects you to the many resources available through the Alzheimer’s Association to assist you, the person with the disease, and the families that you work with.

Webinar attendees will learn:

  • To differentiate between Alzheimer’s and Dementia,
  • To recognize common signs and symptoms of both diseases,
  • To refer caregivers to local and state resources for assistance.

 

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Law Enforcement webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: Understanding Victim Rights
Victims’ rights are the way that victims are guaranteed a voice in the criminal justice system. Es […]
3 years ago
Cultural Competence and Elder Abuse
While elder abuse occurs across cultural lines, cultural aspects can present both aggravating and mi […]
3 years ago
In Case You Missed It: A Video Snippet from Increased Risks for Elder Abuse among the LGBTQ Community
Sherrill Wayland and Bonnie Olsen shared some insightful information during their webinar, Increased […]
5 years ago
How to Launch an Elder Abuse Multidisciplinary Team – and Why
Handling and investigating cases entails effort, for some, it takes a village. Collaborating across […]
6 years ago
Thoughts on Elder Abuse
A powerful comment from San Diego County District Attorney Summer Stephan in the San Diego County E […]