Trauma Mitigation for Police and the Policed

Registrations: 963

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Mar 22nd, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Mar 22nd, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Mar 22nd, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Mar 22nd, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Law enforcement officers routinely respond to situations with intense emotion and a high potential for negative outcomes. Officer mindset and awareness is critical to the best outcomes for them and the humans they encounter. Achieving these best outcomes for the community and the Officer is dependent on optimal identification and response to trauma signals.

A general understanding of the prevalence and impact of trauma among suspects, victims, and community members can help us to communicate better and achieve more successful results. The Officer’s empathy, compassion, and self-awareness can all be factors in their assessment of the threats in the environment, their response judgments, and use-of-force decisions.  This session covers strategies to identify signs of distress, interact with those experiencing a trauma response, and maintain our own equilibrium in high-stress situations.

Officer Wellness impacts threat assessment and response.  Some basics on lifestyle choices impacting your Wellness including Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction will be covered.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
The Empathetic Workplace: 5 Steps to a Compassionate, Calm, and Confident Response to Trauma on the Job
There are a lot of people who are suffering from stress and trauma that are not getting the help the […]
1 year ago
Victim Rights: What Law Enforcement Officers Need to Know
Victims often feel violated or scared after an incident, so ensuring that there are rights that prot […]
2 years ago
Victim Rights in a Post Epstein World
Webinar Video Clip: Victim Rights in a Post Epstein World It took decades for victims to fight […]
2 years ago
Thoughts about Victims from Michelle Welch
Michelle Welch shared incredible insights and advice during her webinar, "In Other Words... How Do Y […]
X