Trauma Informed Courts: The Stuff They Don’t Teach You In Law School

Registrations: 22

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Nov 21st, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Nov 21st, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Nov 21st, 2024 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Nov 21st, 2024 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

This webinar will discuss how the stress response presents in youth when going through court proceedings and testifying and how to support them.  The goal of this presentation is to provide attorneys, judges, advocates and therapists insight into effective ways that they can transform their court processes as well as their courtrooms into trauma-informed environments.

By doing this, it will support positive outcomes for testimony and the youth’s mental health throughout the court process and long term.  This presentation is unique as it will have real-life examples from multiple professional lenses.

 

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Advocate/Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


The National Center for Victims of Crime is a nonprofit organization that advocates for victims’ rights, trains professionals who work with victims, and serves as a trusted source of information on victims’ issues. After more than 35 years, we remain the most comprehensive national resource committed to advancing victims’ rights and helping victims of crime rebuild their lives.

The National Center is, at its core, an advocacy organization committed to — and working on behalf of — crime victims and their families. Rather than focus the entire organization’s work on one type of crime or victim, the National Center addresses all types of crime.

 

 

 


 

Additional Resources
8 months ago
The Magic Decoder Ring: How Criminal Justice Can Work Better with Therapists and Psychologists in Youth and Family Cases
The Justice System and the Behavioral Health professions do not always see eye-to-eye when it comes […]
1 year ago
‘They didn’t teach us this in law school’: How to Create a Legitimate Trauma Informed Court
The courts are highly familiar with the laws within the jurisdictions they operate in – but someth […]
4 years ago
Working with Childhood Trauma: Tools for Justice Professionals
This is the third installment of Duane Bowers’ Child Trauma webinar series. It started with a cour […]
4 years ago
Thoughts on the Effects of Childhood Trauma from Duane Bowers
Duane Bowers' webinars are always so educational and informative -- none more so than his incredible […]