“They didn’t teach us this in law school:” How to Create a Legitimate Trauma Informed Court

Registrations: 38

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Apr 25th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Apr 25th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Apr 25th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Apr 25th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

This webinar will have a strong focus on attorneys, advocates, and judges who interact with traumatized children in their courtrooms.  This talk will also be highly relevant for other providers who work directly with the courts (e.g., therapists and police officers).  Specific “Trauma Basics” will be covered such as Complex Trauma vs. PTSD, why evidence-based treatments are more powerful than non-evidence-based treatments, secondary trauma, and others.  Specific tools will be given as examples of what a “Trauma-Informed Court” looks like such as the “NCTSN Bench Card for the Trauma-Informed Judge.”  Lastly, immediate steps that can be taken today will be focused on for audience members in order to help them start moving towards a “Trauma-Informed Court”.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

 

 

Additional Resources
2 years ago
Traumatic Brain Injury: It’s Not Just about Football
We worry about concussions due to sports injuries or car accidents but rarely do we consider if a do […]
3 years ago
Trauma Informed Jails: An Interview with Dr. Robin Timme
We know that most inmates have some level of trauma in their background. But what about your correct […]
Trauma Infogrx Thumbnail
5 years ago
Infographic: What is Trauma?
"The truth, however, is that day-to-day police work includes enough stress and exposure to t […]
5 years ago
Trauma Informed Work
  Trauma Informed Work is providing service with the understanding that the client/witness/v […]
X