The Power of Suggestion: What Justice Professionals Need to Know When Questioning Witnesses

Registrations: 316
Cost: Free to Attend the Live Webinar Event

If you can't make the live event, become a member to watch all recordings.


Date/Time by Timezone
Thu, Jun 29th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Jun 29th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Jun 29th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Jun 29th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Our recollections for events we experience can be influenced by other sources of suggested information.  This webinar will provide an overview of the strengths and weaknesses of eyewitness memory, and factors associated with child and adult witnesses adopting suggested information.  Participants will learn the following:

  • How recollections for events can be affected by exposure to post-event information.
  • The effect of trauma and stress on eyewitness memory.
  • Factors that affect suggestibility.
  • Investigative techniques that enhance eyewitness accuracy.

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Prosecutorial/Legal webinars on the JCH Platform 

 

 


 

This webinar is part of the JCH Summer School Program. From June 1-August 31, 2023, attendees will receive a certificate of attendance via email about one hour after the conclusion of a webinar.

Want to join us for other Summer School webinars? Check out our Summer School Calendar and register today!

 


 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: Understanding Victim Rights
Victims’ rights are the way that victims are guaranteed a voice in the criminal justice system. Es […]
1 year ago
Online Course: Introduction to Motivational Interviewing
Criminal Justice professionals regularly encounter people who are on the verge of change. A pro […]
3 years ago
Preparing Witnesses and Experts for Trial
Most people’s knowledge of the criminal justice system is founded on media portrayals of forensic […]
4 years ago
Witness Preparation: How to Effectively Prepare Your Experts and Witnesses to Win Your Cases
As with almost anything in life, preparation makes all the difference. This certainly is the case wh […]
5 years ago
Preparing for and Surviving Cross-Examination as a Witness
The responsibility of law enforcement does not end with going to the scene of the crime or catching […]
5 years ago
How to Handle a Recanting Witness
As if building, handling and prosecuting cases aren’t a challenge by itself already, sometimes, we […]