The Magic Decoder Ring: How Criminal Justice Can Work Better with Therapists and Psychologists in Youth and Family Cases

Registrations: 411
Cost: Free to Attend the Live Webinar Event

If you can't make the live event, become a member to watch all recordings.


Date/Time by Timezone
Tue, Sep 12th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Sep 12th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Sep 12th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Sep 12th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

“Why is this therapist such a bad witness?”  “Why is this psychologist refusing to release their paperwork to me?”  “Why is this doctor giving me such a hard time?”  If you have ever asked any of these questions (or similar ones) when interacting with a mental health/behavioral health provider, then you need to attend this webinar.

The twofold focus of this webinar is first to teach legal professionals how to “speak therapist.”  The secondary focus of this talk is to teach therapists and other behavioral health providers how to understand “attorney-ese.”  The main goal of this talk is to help bridge the worlds of the mental health provider and the legal provider so that both can better help the family they are working with.  A strong emphasis on cases involving child trauma will be part of this talk and specific examples and strategies to help bridge the two spheres will be given.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: Applying the Science of Hope for Criminal Justice, Juvenile Justice and Social Services Professionals
  Hope demands to be understood, no different from other disciplines. This course not only p […]
2 years ago
Beyond Self-Care: The CE-CERT model for Secondary Trauma and Burnout
Anyone who has experienced vicarious trauma (VT) or secondary trauma (ST) and burnout, or is helping […]
2 years ago
Addressing Problematic Sexual Behaviors (PSBs) in Children and Adolescents
Children and adolescents may exhibit problematic sexual behaviors. When such manifests, it is import […]
4 years ago
Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Abuse Cases
Proving abuse can be infuriating. Victims are questioned on the validity of the claim of abuse and a […]
4 years ago
Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]