The Link between Animal Abuse and Human Abuse: Understanding the link to help investigate and prosecute your cases

Registrations: 651
Cost: Free to Attend the Live Webinar Event

If you can't make the live event, become a member to watch all recordings.


Date/Time by Timezone
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

“Batterers who also abuse their pets are both more controlling and use more dangerous forms of violence [sexual violence, marital rape, emotional violence and stalking] than batterers who do not.” Simmons & Lehmann (2007), Journal of Interpersonal Violence, Vol. 22, No. 9

This training will explore the link between animal cruelty and domestic violence and family violence; ensure that participants can identify signs of abuse/neglect to deliver appropriate interventions; make recommendations to support victim services and successful prosecution of cases.   We will also explore the link between animal violence and other kinds of violence:  school shooters and serial killers and the link between animal fighting and other kinds of crimes.

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.
 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.