The Last Solution to the Problem: Children, Self-Harm, Suicide and Trauma

Registrations: 146

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jun 18th, 2024 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Jun 18th, 2024 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Jun 18th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Jun 18th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

An adage that is tragically true is that from the perspective of the person attempting it, suicide is a “solution” to a problem.

This webinar will focus on how a person, specifically a child, can get from point A to point Z, and see this “solution” as a viable one from their perspective.

Topics such as how traumatic stress factors into this (conservative estimates in the scientific literature show that just by addressing trauma you may be able to catch a minimum of half of all your suicide attempters), the relation between self-harm (e.g., “cutting”) and suicide, as well as evidence-based treatments and approaches to this grim topic will be covered.

The goal of this talk is to understand how a person arrives at this “solution” so that it can be prevented.

 

Other Webinars with this Speaker

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Wellness and Mental Health webinars on the JCH Platform.

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Intervening with Trauma and Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities (IDD) in Families
Youth that becomes entangled in the justice system tend to come from two specific groups – those t […]
1 year ago
Online Course: Crisis Intervention Response – An Introduction and Refresher
Professionals in the Criminal Justice System have a front-row seat to the challenges and issues faci […]
2 years ago
Addressing Problematic Sexual Behaviors (PSBs) in Children and Adolescents
Children and adolescents may exhibit problematic sexual behaviors. When such manifests, it is import […]
3 years ago
In Case You Missed It: Video Snippet from Suicide by Cop
Shelly Katkowski shared some insightful information during her webinar, Suicide by Cop: Protocols an […]
4 years ago
Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]