The Importance of Providing Support to DV Victims in the Probation Setting

Registrations: 17

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Mar 8th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Mar 8th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Mar 8th, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Mar 8th, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    In this webinar, Lauren Anderson, of the Suffolk County Probation Department (NY), will discuss the importance of having a designated person to work exclusively with and provide support and services to, Domestic Violence victims in the Probation setting.  She will discuss the origins of her department’s Victims Services section, her role in her unit and in the department, and services she provides to her victims and to Probation Officers.  A few of the services she provides is liaison services between the victim and the criminal justice system, educating victims of their rights and options, helping DV victims file police reports, obtain orders of protection, court accompaniment, crisis counseling/support, conduct Danger Assessments, provide referrals, and more.  Lauren will also share some of her case examples demonstrating the importance of her role and feedback she has received from her victims.

     

     

    Additional Resources
    8 months ago
    Domestic Violence and Dispatch
    Dispatch serves as the intermediary between members of the community and the first responders who ca […]
    1 year ago
    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde: Managing the Narcissistic, Coercive and Controlling DV Offender
    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde tells the story of a man who suffered from an internal conflict between good […]
    2 years ago
    Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children
    Living in a home where domestic violence occurs tend to have a negative effect to its inhabitants. I […]
    3 years ago
    The Domestic Violence Pre-Sentencing Investigation: From Start to Finish
    Domestic violence is a widespread problem for both law enforcement and public health. Unfortunately, […]
    X