The Empathetic Workplace: 5 Steps to a Compassionate, Calm, and Confident Response to Trauma on the Job

Registrations: 88

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Apr 21st, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Apr 21st, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Apr 21st, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Apr 21st, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    We face those in trauma every day–victims, witnesses, and even our own co-workers. When we respond well to trauma, we build trust and make it more likely that those in need get help. Unfortunately, it’s not always easy to respond well because of the way that trauma affects the brain, both of the person in trauma and those who are interacting with him or her. In this presentation, Katharine Manning, author of The Empathetic Workplace and an attorney with more than 25 years’ experience with issues of trauma and victimization, discusses how trauma affects us and the five steps to an appropriate and supportive response to those in trauma: listen, acknowledge, share, empower, and return.

     

    Other Webinars with this Presenter

     


    This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.


     

    Additional Resources
    5 months ago
    Sexual Assault Survivors Bill of Rights
    Amanda Nguyen was a college student at Harvard. She was sexually assaulted and wasn’t sure if she […]
    8 months ago
    Victim Rights in a Post Epstein World
    Webinar Video Clip: Victim Rights in a Post Epstein World It took decades for victims to fight […]
    2 years ago
    Recognizing Mental Health Disorders in Others
    The law enforcement and justice profession deal with different types of people with a myriad of pers […]
    3 years ago
    Providing Wellness Support for Online Child Exploitation Personnel: An Interview with Duane Bowers
    Viewing images of child exploitation is nothing short of disturbing. But what if it was your job […]
    X