The Court’s Eyes and Ears: The Importance of Interagency Collaboration with Probation

Registrations: 1345

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jan 27th, 2022 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Jan 27th, 2022 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Jan 27th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Jan 27th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Probation plays an integral part at multiple stages of the justice process including investigation and supervision. In addition, these same professionals by the very nature of their job are often a point person for not just the offender, but the victim and community stakeholders and service providers alike. However, their input is often overlooked and not taken into account as the offender moves through the system as well as once they are sentenced.

    Facilitators will discuss the importance of collaboration between probation and the justice system; in particular between prosecution and Judges when handling high-risk domestic violence cases. Topics to be discussed are the importance of the use of risk assessments tools, judicial bench cards for sentencing of high-risk offenders, and judicial reviews for sentenced offenders to maintain accountability and victim safety.

     

    Participants will learn about:

    • Advantages of using risk assessments for high-risk offenders
    • Tools and tips to promote collaboration
    • How increased collaboration can improve offender accountability, victim safety and victim perception of system response

     

    Other Webinars with this Presenter:

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Probation and Parole webinars on the JCH Platform.

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde: Managing the Narcissistic, Coercive and Controlling DV Offender
    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde tells the story of a man who suffered from an internal conflict between good […]
    2 years ago
    An Approach to High Lethality Domestic Violence Offenders: The Accountability Court Model
    Domestic violence cases can get problematic given the relationship dynamics between offender and vic […]
    3 years ago
    Beyond Victim Blaming: An Interview with Sara Mahoney
    One of the most common reactions a victim of domestic violence will experience is that of blame - "w […]
    3 years ago
    Supervising the Domestic Violence Offender: What I’ve Learned from the Field
    Domestic Violence Offenders are often times charismatic, charming and come across as “easily mana […]
    X