Smile! You’re on Not-So Candid Camera

Registrations: 822

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 27th, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 27th, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 27th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 27th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    In an era when nearly everyone is equipped with a smart phone with audio-visual recording ability the number of recorded negative encounters between law enforcement and the public over the issue of officers being recorded is distressing. In the webinar we are going to discuss and hopefully dispel the myth that in most cases when an officer is in a public area they have any legal protection against having their activities recorded. We are going to talk about the privacy rights, or lack thereof, of officers and third parties and when and where the legal right to record activities ends. We are going to look at case examples of what to do or not to do and practical and legal issues in an age where it may seem like the whole world is watching your every move- because it just might be true.

     

     


     

    The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

     

     


     

     

    Additional Resources
    8 months ago
    Thoughts on Planning from Rick Hodsdon
    There are many types of events and situations justice agencies can predict might happen: from natura […]
    11 months ago
    First Amendment, Social Media and Employee Discipline
    Most of the world is now online. This definitely altered our reality, changing how humans deal with […]
    1 year ago
    Family Medical Leave Act for Justice Professionals
    The Family Medical Leave Act is one of the major pieces of legislation adopted in the early 1990s. I […]
    2 years ago
    Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
    What is the Brady case and what does it have to do with you as a law enforcement officer or prosecut […]
    X