Situational Awareness: Closing the Gap Between Stimulus and Response

Registrations: 92

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Mar 16th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Wed, Mar 16th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Wed, Mar 16th, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Wed, Mar 16th, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Situational awareness is a topic that has gained much attention over the last few years. When it comes to officer safety it is common to hear phrases like “keep your head on a swivel” or “watch your six” but what do such taglines really mean in a practical sense? Such one-liners are repeated so often they have become meaningless and do not translate into proactive safety measures. Criminal justice professions cannot afford to be complacent when it comes to officer safety. Situational awareness is a skill that needs to be learned, developed, and practiced. During a violent encounter, the length of your life may be directly proportional to your situational awareness skills! There can be success or defeat in the time-sensitive space between stimulus and response.

    In this webinar on Situational Awareness: Closing the Gap Between Stimulus and Response you will learn:

    • The importance of improving situational awareness so you respond faster and more effectively to a potentially violent encounter.
    • That situational awareness, while a critical skill, is the starting point to an effective response to avoid, mitigate, or respond to violence.
    • How situational awareness and critical thinking skills can positively or negatively impact your safety based on your decision-making abilities.

     

    Click here to view and register for other upcoming Law Enforcement webinars on the JCH Platform.

     

    Additional Resources
    3 years ago
    Officer Survival for Correctional and Detention Officers
    We are exposed to violent incidents that happen when we watch and read the news. For those working i […]
    3 years ago
    Officer Survival for Probation and Parole Officers: Tactical Mindset
    Police, probation, and parole officers ensure that citizens and communities remain safe. However, as […]
    4 years ago
    The Value of Time During an Intruder Response: An Interview with Mark Warren
    Once a critical incident has begun, people have only moments before needing to take action. But with […]
    4 years ago
    Use of Force and Officer Safety
    No one becomes an officer wanting to use excessive force to detain or apprehend people. But in the […]
    X