Serving Crime Victims in Post-Conviction Exonerations

Registrations: 491

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Nov 16th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Nov 16th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Nov 16th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Nov 16th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Over the past two decades, there has been a rapidly increasing number of convictions overturned on the grounds of factual innocence. Many of these post-conviction exonerations have been led by police and prosecutors, yet little attention has been paid to the impact on the victims and survivors of the original crime. Addressing and meeting their needs is critical to promoting trust and fairness in our criminal justice system. This presentation will present actual experiences of victims and survivors and provide expert recommendations and tools for providing victim services and protecting victims’ rights in these cases.

     

     


    This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

     

     


     

     

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    In Case You Missed It: A Snippet from Victims Rights in a Post Epstein World
    Katharine Manning shared some excellent insights and facts during her webinar, Victims Rights in a P […]
    1 year ago
    Thoughts about Victims from Michelle Welch
    Michelle Welch shared incredible insights and advice during her webinar, "In Other Words... How Do Y […]
    2 years ago
    Five Considerations for Working with Immigrant Victims of Sexual Assault
    Sexual assault is a crime many people in immigrant communities face. While there is very little data […]
    Ambiguous Loss
    3 years ago
    Ambiguous Loss: The impact of missing persons on victims, advocates and judicial system personnel
    Experiencing loss is painful, but there is some solace in the conclusiveness of knowing something or […]
    X