Responding to Inmate and Visitor Requests for ADA Accommodations and Disability Related Grievances

Registrations: 7

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

There is a colloquial term used frequently in Disability Rights laws and regulations; Reasonable. But no one really defines it. And what is reasonable in other state and local government settings (Title II entities) rarely makes sense in a secure custodial environment. So what do you do when you get a request for an accommodation from an inmate? What are the facility’s requirements for meeting a visitor’s needs, both professional and public visitors? What if an inmate or member of the public submits a disability-related grievance?

 

In this webinar, Deputy Chris Smith, ADA Coordinator for the Larimer County Sheriff’s Office will review the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the application of the ADA to a jail/correctional facility, and examples of how he has responded to actual requests and grievances he has received.

 

 Click here to register and view other Jail/Corrections-related webinars and recordings on the JCH website.

 


This webinar will be considered by the American Jail Association to equal one online learning hour toward certification and recertification for the following programs: Certified Jail Officer, Certified Jail Supervisor and Certified Jail Manager.  For more information about AJA certification programs, visit  https://www.americanjail.org/certification.

 


 

Additional Resources
8 months ago
ADA Basics for Criminal Justice Professionals: What is the ADA and why does it matter?
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination agains […]
3 years ago
1983 Civil Rights Litigation: What Justice Professionals Need to Know
Recent turn of events has the public looking at constitutional rights. It becomes a question of wher […]
5 years ago
From Guide Dogs to Therapy Squirrels: The Americans with Disabilities Act and Animal Welfare Professionals
Animals have proven themselves useful to humans for a long time – from assisting with hunting, far […]
5 years ago
The ADA for Justice Professionals
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), first enacted in 1990 and amended in 2009 was put into pl […]