Reclassifying 911 as First Responders: What Public Safety Professionals Should Know

Registrations: 20

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Apr 11th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Apr 11th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Apr 11th, 2024 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Apr 11th, 2024 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

911 professionals are categorized as “clerical” by the Federal Government.

Read that again. If that comes as a shock, you should attend this webinar.

In 2018, the Federal Bureau of Labor and Statistics (BLS) classified 911 dispatchers as “Office and Administrative Support Occupation” based on data they collected from 911 centers across the United States. This session will explore how this happened and what we can do to change it. Additionally, there have been several state-level efforts to reclassify 911 as first responders, some successfully and others not.

What does this mean? It’s more complicated than it may seem on the surface. This webinar will discuss:

  • The history of 911 professionals
  • How the job has changed and why reclassification matters
  • The BLS classification process
  • State-wide reclassification efforts
  • The 911 SAVES Act
  • What we can do to support reclassification efforts statewide and federally
  • What tools exist to help the effort

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Dispatch webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
The Power of Your Passion
A job in the public safety field is demanding, stressful, and even traumatic. Compounded with other […]
1 year ago
Empowered People Empower 911
The helping profession at times may feel like a thankless job, particularly for telecommunicators an […]
1 year ago
Online Course: Mastering Your Life through Self Coaching
If you're like most people, whenever you've thought about getting into the best shape of your life, […]
3 years ago
Domestic Violence and Dispatch
Dispatch serves as the intermediary between members of the community and the first responders who ca […]
3 years ago
EQ for Dispatchers
It’s been established that individuals can get trauma from repeated exposure to details of distres […]
X