Race, Gender, and Policing during COVID-19

Registrations: 49

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 22nd, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Jul 22nd, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Jul 22nd, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Jul 22nd, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Historically, efforts to address mass incarceration left girls behind due to gender-neutral policies that failed to contemplate their needs. Events over the past year have amplified interest in addressing inequities in the legal system, however, the experiences of girls, especially girls of color, are still largely overlooked. Girls are often criminalized for their attempts to cope with trauma after experiencing violence and abuse. Understanding and addressing this nexus between trauma and criminalization is critical given the increased vulnerability girls face as a result of the pandemic.

    This webinar will apply a gender lens to the policing of youth and examine:

    • The impact of COVID-19 on juvenile justice system involvement
    • How systemic racism, youth developmental psychology, and trauma contribute to negative police interactions for youth of color
    • The ways in which social attitudes towards girls, especially girls of color, contribute to their being criminalized for their own abuse
    • And effective strategies and promising practices to prevent girls from experiencing the Abuse to Prison Pipeline.

     

    Other Webinars with Rights4Girls:

    Additional Resources
    7 months ago
    Family Violence and the Abuse to Prison Pipeline for Girls
    October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Rights4Girls is one of the organizations at the forefr […]
    1 year ago
    Intersectionality and Reducing Girls Justice System Involvement
    Rights4Girls, in partnership with the Georgetown Juvenile Justice Initiative, worked on a study that […]
    1 year ago
    From Child Welfare to the Juvenile Justice System: Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline For Girls
    There is a problem with the child welfare system. Children are directed to the child welfare system […]
    2 years ago
    Building Resiliency for Girls in the Juvenile Justice System by Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline
    Unfortunate is an understatement when we talk about the fate of a lot of children who end up in juve […]
    X