The Prosecution of Child Neglect Cases

Registrations: 1291

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Dec 9th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Dec 9th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Dec 9th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Dec 9th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    The essence of child neglect cases is proving in court that a caregiver acted in a way that resulted in harm to a child.  In most cases of neglect, however, the action of the caregiver is a lack of action entirely.  This results in the prosecution being in the unenviable position of proving a negative. During this presentation the presenters will discuss:

    • Reviewing the appropriate medical records of the victim & how to present them to a judge or jury.
    • Reviewing normal child growth & development & contrasting the normal with the victim.
    • Obtaining forensic interviews of other children in the home about their diet & those of the victim.
    • Leading a medical expert through the process of tying together the dangers of neglect & the potential for life long health consequences.

     

    This is part of a 3-part series:

     

     

    Additional Resources
    6 months ago
    More than Words: The Emotional Maltreatment of Children
    Webinar Video Clip: More Than Words - The Emotional Maltreatment of Children   There ar […]
    1 year ago
    Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Sexual Abuse Cases: Why it’s normal to be normal and why that still matters
    Hearing the details of child sexual abuse incidents and cases is dreadful. Unknown to most of us is […]
    1 year ago
    Untrue Medical Defenses in Abusive Head Trauma & How to deal with them
    The investigation and prosecution of Abusive Head Trauma cases is fraught with perceived contradict […]
    2 years ago
    Infographic: Partners in Crime – The Link between animal abuse and human abuse
    “When animals are abused, people are at risk; When people are abused, animals are at risk.& […]
    X