Preventing Jail Suicide: Issues We Don’t Talk About, But Should

Registrations: 1437

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Mar 25th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Mar 25th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Mar 25th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Mar 25th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Most jails have suicide prevention programs in place. Yet, inmates keep dying and suicide remains the leading cause of death in jail facilities. Part 2 of this series will cover key issues rarely talked about in relation to preventing inmates from killing themselves. These issues are essential to preventing in-custody suicide deaths and reducing the liability associated with them. The presenter is a jail suicide expert who is regularly involved with lawsuits related to suicide deaths in corrections. Audience participation and lessons learned from suicide litigation will be highlighted. Attending Part 1 of this series is recommended, but not required.

     

    This is part of a two-part series:

     


     

    The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.


     

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    Standards of Care: Mental Health in Our Jails and Prisons…Now What?
    Correctional health care is public health care – if we can release the inmate population much bett […]
    1 year ago
    Suicide Explained: What Leads Someone To That Moment
      This is the second installment of Amy Morgan’s three-part webinar series that focuses on […]
    1 year ago
    Mental Illness in the Criminal Justice System: The Facts and Figures Justice Professionals Need to Know
    Law enforcement officers find themselves dealing with people from all walks of life daily – and it […]
    2 years ago
    Trauma Informed Jails: An Interview with Dr. Robin Timme
    We know that most inmates have some level of trauma in their background. But what about your correct […]
    X