Preventing Jail Suicide: Adjusting Current Strategies to Save Lives

Registrations: 1021

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 2nd, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Feb 2nd, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Feb 2nd, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Feb 2nd, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Despite using multiple strategies to prevent inmates from killing themselves, suicide is still the leading cause of death in jails. Tweaks and adjustments to current suicide prevention practices are needed in most rural and urban jails across the country. This webinar will focus on modifying 8 current strategies most jails are using–in order to better avoid tragic deaths and large lawsuits. The presenter is a jail suicide expert who is regularly involved with lawsuits related to suicide deaths in corrections. Audience participation and lessons learned from suicide litigation will be highlighted.

     

    This is part of a two-part series:

     

    Additional Resources
    8 months ago
    Standards of Care: Mental Health in Our Jails and Prisons…Now What?
    Correctional health care is public health care – if we can release the inmate population much bett […]
    11 months ago
    Thoughts on Mental Health Treatment from Kelly Rowe
    Inmates with mental illnesses are a substantial part of the incarcerated population, as Sheriff Kell […]
    1 year ago
    Fixing the Incentives that Force Sheriffs to be Mental Health Providers: A Long Overdue Opportunity
    Criminal justice agencies are bearing the brunt of the mental health crisis – in cost, time, and m […]
    3 years ago
    Basic Suicide Prevention, Intervention & Postvention: An Interview with Amy Morgan
    Asking for help isn't easy for many people - but it can be especially difficult for first responders […]
    X