Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Abuse Cases

Registrations: 506

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Mar 11th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Mar 11th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Mar 11th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Mar 11th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    When is a bruise not just a bruise?  When it represents an injury mechanism that was potentially life-threatening to a child.  Jurors frequently do not understand the force that must be used in order to inflict many skin, skeletal, & abdominal injuries in young children and infants, nor do they appreciate the state of mind that an abuser was in when they inflicted the injury.  As well, they may have trouble differentiating abuse from discipline depending on their own childhood and cultural backgrounds.  This presentation is tailored to investigators and prosecutors to facilitate their understanding of the violence involved in many abusive injuries and how to get the significance of injuries presented through a medical expert.

    Additional Resources
    2 years ago
    Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children
    Living in a home where domestic violence occurs tend to have a negative effect to its inhabitants. I […]
    2 years ago
    Untrue Medical Defenses in Abusive Head Trauma & How to deal with them
    The investigation and prosecution of Abusive Head Trauma cases is fraught with perceived contradict […]
    2 years ago
    Thoughts about Animal and Child Abuse from Andrew Campbell
    Such incredible findings from Andrew Campbell's webinar, "Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse a […]
    2 years ago
    Understanding Medical Records for Your Child Abuse Investigation and Prosecution Efforts
    Medical reports and records make all the difference when it comes to proving child abuse cases. The […]
    X