Preparing for Trial: What Witnesses and Experts Need to Know

Registrations: 1

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jun 22nd, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jun 22nd, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jun 22nd, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jun 22nd, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    In prosecuting animal cruelty offenses, success largely depends on the prosecutor’s witnesses testifying confidently and competently. (After all, our victims cannot take the stand for themselves!) Unfortunately, testifying in trial is not a natural-born skill, and individuals involved in the animal welfare community—animal service, veterinarians, and animal shelter staff—do not have nearly enough opportunities to practice it.

    In this webinar, Oregon Animal Cruelty Deputy District Attorney Jake Kamins will give you the tips you need to present your testimony effectively and efficiently, always keeping in mind his “golden rule” (TELL THE TRUTH!) You will learn how to prepare for the big day, what questions to ask in advance, and how to keep yourself calm and composed even under the harshest cross-examination.

     

    Other Webinars with this Speaker

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming NACA  webinars on the JCH Platform.

     


     

    The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

     

     

     


     

    Additional Resources
    2 months ago
    Working and Managing Inter-Agency Relationships: Investigating & Prosecuting Animal Abuse Cases
    A collaborative approach is seen to be effective in the law enforcement and justice profession. It a […]
    5 months ago
    In Case You Missed It: A Snippet from Working with Your Local Vet
    Jake Kamins shared some incredible insights and advice during his webinar, "Working with Your Local […]
    6 months ago
    Thoughts about Animal Victims from Jake Kamins
    Jake Kamins shared incredible insights during his webinar, Animals as Victims: Charing and the Law.. […]
    8 months ago
    Animals as Victims: Charging and the Law
    Cases on animal cruelty or neglect can be difficult to investigate or prosecute. Lack of knowledge a […]
    X