Policing in the Post-Floyd Era: Use of Force and Community Engagement

Registrations: 86

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jan 26th, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Jan 26th, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Jan 26th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Jan 26th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    The ability of police officers to use force, and potentially take human life, is likely the most significant aspect of the profession. Police have a clear obligation to ensure force is being used appropriately, and in compliance with the criminal and constitutional law. But in the post-Floyd era, police must also recognize that force will receive unprecedented community attention, and that force discussions now go beyond legal analyses and involve meaningful community engagement.

    This webinar will address:

    • Fundamental concepts of objectively reasonable force
    • Significant elements of community engagement
    • Practical tips for engaging communities around use of force issues

     

    Click here to view and register for other upcoming ASEBP webinars on the JCH Platform.

     


     

    The American Society of EvidenceBased Policing is a non-profit organization started by working police officers designed to drive the national conversation towards ensuring that the least harmful, most effective, fairest, and safest strategies are employed to prevent crime, reduce harm, and improve community wellness.

     

     

     


     

    Additional Resources
    2 years ago
    Legal Issues in Today’s Jail: Use of Force
    Use of force is a sensitive issue, and it becomes even more problematic when it is in the jail setti […]
    3 years ago
    Use of Force: Integrating Communications, Assessment, and Tactics
    With the recent shooting at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, lots of law enforcement and legislative i […]
    3 years ago
    Understanding the Use of Force: An Interview with Tim Miller
    Law Enforcement Officers are there to "protect and serve." It often part of why they sign up. It's o […]
    3 years ago
    Use of Force and Officer Safety: An interview with Dr. Jeff Fox, PhD
    No one becomes an officer wanting to use excessive force to detain or apprehend people. But in th […]
    X