More Case Studies in Criminal Justice Interactions with Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder

Registrations: 81

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 14th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Feb 14th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Feb 14th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Feb 14th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

This webinar will briefly describe the characteristics of individuals on the autism spectrum as well as a brief description of common situations in which individuals with autism encounter law enforcement officers and other criminal justice professionals. We will then explore strategies for successfully interacting with individuals with autism within the context of several case studies of actual interactions across settings from police and first responders in the community through court and custodial environments. Participants will be asked to brainstorm and problem-solve multiple alternative response options as part of reviewing the scenarios. By the end of the webinar, participants should be able to identify specific strategies that can be used to support successful interactions with individuals on the spectrum and how those strategies can be applied across a variety of real-world situations and settings.

 

Other Webinars with this Speaker

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Law Enforcement webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

Additional Resources
2 months ago
Online Course: An Introduction to Trauma Informed Victim Advocacy
The way we support victims and survivors can shape how they recover and move on from the most challe […]
1 year ago
Case Studies in Law Enforcement Encounters with Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders
People with autism are 4 to 5 times more likely than the general population to have an encounter wit […]
2 years ago
Thoughts on Adaptation from Dr. Wes Dotson
What a great reminder Dr. Wes Dotson shared during his webinar, Case Studies in Law Enforcement Enco […]
2 years ago
Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]
3 years ago
Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders: Characteristic behaviors, challenges, and tips for successful interactions
First responders and justice professionals deal with people from all walks of life and it makes all […]
X