Medical Aspects of Child Neglect

Registrations: 669

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 24th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Sep 24th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Sep 24th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Sep 24th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

Though often neglected medically & legally, child neglect is literally the most lethal of all forms of child maltreatment. This presentation will discuss the medical evaluation & diagnosis of child neglect, especially nutritional neglect & unsafe environments.  The presenter will discuss the less obvious medical aspects of neglect, including the dangers of refeeding syndrome & potential life long health & developmental problems neglect may lead to.  These concepts include:

  • Failure to thrive as a concept vs. & a diagnosis.
  • “Marasmus”
  • Medical mimics & causes of malnutrition
  • Refeeding syndrome
  • Potential life long effects of child neglect & malnutrition.

 

This is part of a 3-part series:

 

 

Additional Resources
6 months ago
Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Abuse Cases
Proving abuse can be infuriating. Victims are questioned on the validity of the claim of abuse and a […]
1 year ago
Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children
Living in a home where domestic violence occurs tend to have a negative effect to its inhabitants. I […]
1 year ago
Thoughts about Animal and Child Abuse from Andrew Campbell
Such incredible findings from Andrew Campbell's webinar, "Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse a […]
2 years ago
Children as Witnesses in Domestic Violence Cases: Law Enforcement Considerations: An Interview with Hilary Weinberg and Patrick Beumler
According to government statistics between 3-4 million children ages 3-17 are at risk of exposure to […]
X