Managing as a Coach: Shifting Your Mindset

Registrations: 668

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 28th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Sep 28th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Sep 28th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Sep 28th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Managers’ and trainers’ overall duty is to develop their colleagues and students. Often employee development is wrapped up in “what or how.” This is due to the criminal justice profession having become outcome-driven and an unreal expectation of perfection.  Most often the “what and how” are influenced by the why.  The why is cognitive and requires a different training strategy than tactical or physical skills.

We will look at the Cognitive Coaching philosophy developed by Gary Klein and adapted for the criminal justice professional.  Cognitive Coaching addresses two areas. The first is a mindset shift on the part of the manager or trainer.  Being curious about why errors happen, developing a beginner’s mindset, and simplification are included in the mindset shift required to teach cognitive skills.

The second addresses how to assist our colleagues and students in connecting the dots.  How insight becomes intuition and the role experience plays in sensemaking and better decision-making. Some of the techniques include the identification of subtle cues, Pre-mortems/After Action Reviews, and situational awareness.

 

Other Webinars with This Presenter

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Law Enforcement webinars on the JCH Platform.

Or Click here to view and register for other webinars about Leadership and Management on the JCH Platform.

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: Resolving Workplace Conflict Using Mediation Techniques
What do most people envision when they think of conflict? Hostility, raised voices, a racing heartbe […]
2 years ago
CHAOS: Using Emotional Intelligence to Reduce Uncertainty
Our lives and the world in general tend to be full of uncertainty. The uncertainty is ultimately bey […]
5 years ago
Thoughts on Leadership from Thom Dworak
Love this insight from The Virtus Group's Thom Dworak during his recent workshop, "Lead Well." "O […]
5 years ago
Lifetime Career Planning: An Interview with Thom Dworak
For many of us, our careers are part of identity. But just as many of us evolve over our lifespans, […]
6 years ago
Hiring for Emotional Intelligence
Law enforcement is a prestigious career path, but recently, the younger generation isn't as keen int […]