Lethality Assessments for Domestic Violence: A Look at How a Simple Questionnaire Could Save Lives

Registrations: 1542

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Aug 19th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Aug 19th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Aug 19th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Aug 19th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    The Lethality Assessment Program (LAP) was designed by the Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence and based on Dr. Jaquelyn Campbell’s “Danger Assessment.”  The LAP is an 11-question checklist that is read by responding officers to victims of alleged intimate partner violence.  Utilizing a weighted scoring system, officers can determine whether or not victims are at a “high risk” for danger.  If deemed “high risk,” officers will immediately attempt to connect the victim with advocates via telephone.  Studies show that a minimal number of intimate partner homicide victims used advocacy services before their deaths.  This assessment connects victims with valuable resources and information that might ultimately save their lives.   In this webinar, we’ll discuss the ins and outs of the lethality assessment, how to administer it, and the results of agencies currently using it.

     

    Other Webinars with this Speaker
    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    DV Statistics from Andrew Campbell
    Based on his groundbreaking research, Andrew Campbell's webinars are always a wealth of information […]
    1 year ago
    More Effective Personality Conflict Management by Using the Myers Briggs Dichotomies
    This webinar will cover the different Myers-Briggs personality type dichotomies.  By understanding […]
    2 years ago
    An Approach to High Lethality Domestic Violence Offenders: The Accountability Court Model
    Domestic violence cases can get problematic given the relationship dynamics between offender and vic […]
    2 years ago
    Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children
    Living in a home where domestic violence occurs tend to have a negative effect to its inhabitants. I […]
    X