Invisible Epidemic: The Intersection of Traumatic Brain Injury, Strangulation and Domestic Violence (part 1)

Registrations: 1892

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 21st, 2022 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Jul 21st, 2022 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Jul 21st, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Jul 21st, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

The domestic violence movement has known for decades that the head, neck, and face are the most common targets for physical violence through blows to the head or strangulation. But we haven’t recognized the significant impact this can have on the brain. Brain injury caused by violence is rarely identified and almost never immediately treated and results in short and long-term physical, emotional, and cognitive consequences that can impact every area of a person’s life. This session will focus on teaching you about how the brain works and the role it plays in our daily life and activities. We will then provide an overview of the relationship between traumatic brain injury, strangulation, domestic violence, and how it intersects—as well as what we do and don’t yet know about this issue.

 

Other Webinars with this Speaker:

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
9 months ago
Domestic Violence Traumatic Brain Injuries: What Did We Learn from the COVID Pandemic?
Incidents of traumatic brain injuries (TBI) in intimate partner violence (IPV) victims can be traced […]
2 years ago
Traumatic Brain Injury: It’s Not Just about Football
We worry about concussions due to sports injuries or car accidents but rarely do we consider if a do […]
2 years ago
The Investigation & Prosecution of Strangulation Cases
The lethality of strangulation is severe but proving it can be problematic. Difficulties may arise b […]
3 years ago
Infographic: Strangulation in Intimate Partner Violence
During her recent webinar, Victoria Riechers of Arizona Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violenc […]
X