Intervening with Trauma and Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities (IDD) in Families

Registrations: 114

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Nov 3rd, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Nov 3rd, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Nov 3rd, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Nov 3rd, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

This webinar will focus on the intersection of trauma and intellectual and developmental disabilities (e.g., autism, ID, FAS, etc).  This talk will focus on three main areas.  The first will be “myth-busting” of common myths surrounding this population (e.g., the myth that kids who have autism don’t actually feel the trauma).  The second will examine specific interventions and practices that are used for this population and why they are effective.  The last will be resources and in-the-pocket tools you can use to help this population in whatever role you have (e.g., therapists, school providers, legal advocates, etc).

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
4 months ago
What Criminal Justice Professionals Need to Understand about Autism Spectrum Disorder
People with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) are more likely than the general population to have an in […]
4 months ago
Addressing Problematic Sexual Behaviors (PSBs) in Children and Adolescents
Children and adolescents may exhibit problematic sexual behaviors. When such manifests, it is import […]
2 years ago
Thoughts on the Effects of Childhood Trauma from Duane Bowers
Duane Bowers' webinars are always so educational and informative -- none more so than his incredible […]
2 years ago
Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]
X