Intergenerational Trauma and the Role of Family Culture

Registrations: 56

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Mar 14th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Mar 14th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Mar 14th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Mar 14th, 2023 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

We are aware that trauma has a lasting impact on the victims, survivors and those closest to them. But the effects, behaviors and contributors of the trauma may be passed on for generations. This can happen genetically, prenatally, developmentally, and culturally to name a few, and often the intergenerational family culture is the vehicle by which this occurs. This presentation will discuss the variety of ways that trauma and its impact are passed on intergenerationally, and how it effects the body, brain, and various aspects of development. Also discussed are intervention approaches that not only include the survivor and perpetrator, but the family and its culture as well.

 

Other Webinars with this Speaker

 

 

Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

 

 

 

Additional Resources
6 months ago
Intergenerational Trauma
People who find themselves entangled in the system are dealing with some form of trauma. This does n […]
2 years ago
Thoughts on the Effects of Childhood Trauma from Duane Bowers
Duane Bowers' webinars are always so educational and informative -- none more so than his incredible […]
2 years ago
Causes and Conditions of Childhood Trauma: A Practical Approach for Justice Professionals
Traumatic events can have lasting effects on people – more so if it is children who have limited u […]
4 years ago
Ambiguous Loss: The Impact of Missing Persons on Victims, Advocates and Justice System Personnel. An Interview with Duane Bowers
It's incomprehensible the grief a family must feel when one of its members has gone missing. But […]
X