Improving Officer Motivation to Train: The Barriers and Facilitators to Police Training Receptivity

Registrations: 281

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, May 6th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, May 6th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, May 6th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, May 6th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Police officers hate training and the profession lacks a training culture. Whether it is completing state mandated re-certification training or going to a training program administered by an outside “expert” consultant, officers tend to view many training programs as a waste of time and money. As policing sits at a crossroads whereby we are reimaging the role of law enforcement in society, it is necessary for police managers to re-think how to get their officers onboard with training. This webinar will discuss the barriers and facilitators to officer training motivation and receptivity. We will discuss supervisor behaviors that are foundational to cultivating receptivity to training, and individual officer characteristics that shape their orientations toward and experiences with training programs. The webinar will focus on what research tells us about the managerial techniques and recruitment/hiring practices that may provide the best chance of improving officers’ motivation to train.

    Additional Resources
    8 months ago
    Suicide by Cop Protocols and Training Guide
    Webinar Video Clip: Suicide by Cop Protocols and Training Guide Law enforcement protocols are hig […]
    11 months ago
    Are Current Training Models Failing Officers and Communities Alike?
    Use of force incidents set back law enforcement agencies hundred-million dollars’ worth of settlem […]
    1 year ago
    Trauma-Informed Training: Incorporating Wellness for Deputies
    For the general population, only 9% meet the criteria for PTSD across their lifespan, but in correct […]
    1 year ago
    Fine Tuning Your Training
    Teachers are probably one of the world’s most important human resource – they are the ones who l […]
    X