How Does Elder Abuse Impact Latinx Communities?

Registrations: 115

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jul 27th, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Jul 27th, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Jul 27th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Jul 27th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Latinx Americans are the largest ethnic minority in the United States. Join the National Center on Elder Abuse (NCEA) as they take a deep dive addressing elder abuse research findings that impact older people in Latinx communities.  This session will go over impactful moments in Latinx history, risk factors, and how culture influences elder abuse prevention and help-seeking behaviors. Tune in to learn research-informed best practices and recommendations for professionals who wish to better serve this population.

     

    During this webinar, we will:

    • Define culture, cultural competency, and their impact on elder abuse and abuse prevention strategies in the Latinx community
    • Examine how culture can be both a risk factor and protective factor for elder abuse
    • Identify strategies to reach and engage older adults from Latinx communities in elder abuse prevention activities

     

     


    This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

     

     


     

    Additional Resources
    11 months ago
    Elder Fraud Prevention and Response Networks – Building Collaboration to Fight Exploitation and Abuse.
    Working on elder financial exploitation cases requires mobilization from separate entities. APS, law […]
    2 years ago
    Thoughts on Elder Abuse from Julie Schoen
    Julie Schoen provided a wealth of information for justice professionals during her webinar,  Using […]
    2 years ago
    How to Launch an Elder Abuse Multidisciplinary Team – and Why
    Handling and investigating cases entails effort, for some, it takes a village. Collaborating across […]
    3 years ago
    Ask Me Anything: Elder Abuse Prosecutions & Investigations
    Whether you’re a seasoned justice professional or new to the field, everyone needs a sage resource […]
    X