Helping Clients Navigate the Justice Systems: Integrating Social Skills into Daily Interactions

Registrations: 1077

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 23rd, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Sep 23rd, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Sep 23rd, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Sep 23rd, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    The goal of this webinar is to provide professionals working in the justice system with tools to help them support and guide their clients through the multiple, complex interactions they face when moving through their legal process.  We will discuss a simple and straightforward approach to teaching people appropriate and successful ways to interact that can be easily integrated into your day-to-day interactions.  Participants will learn the basic steps to teaching social skills, hear multiple examples of the approach in applied settings, and have a chance to participate in practicing examples of the technique.  Participants will also be given a tool to help them plan for and document their work.

    By the end of the webinar, a participant should be able to:

    • Identify the types of social skills struggles faced by individuals navigating the justice system
    • Describe the specific steps to teach a social skill and follow those steps for skill common to your setting
    • Recognize opportunities to teach those social skills during daily interactions with your clients and plan to do so systematically

     

    Other Webinars with this Speaker

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    Building Competence and Confidence in Our Clients: Incorporating Social Skills Instruction into Already-Occurring Interactions
    Conditions surrounding a person typically dictate their outcomes. We cannot change things like the e […]
    1 year ago
    Thoughts on Adaptation from Dr. Wes Dotson
    What a great reminder Dr. Wes Dotson shared during his webinar, Case Studies in Law Enforcement Enco […]
    1 year ago
    Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
    On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]
    1 year ago
    Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders: Characteristic behaviors, challenges, and tips for successful interactions
    First responders and justice professionals deal with people from all walks of life and it makes all […]
    X