Grief and GRACE: Lessons for First Responders

Registrations: 93

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2024 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Trauma doesn’t occur from abuse alone. Vicarious trauma is an occupational challenge for people working and volunteering in the fields of victim services, law enforcement, emergency medical services, fire services, and other allied professions, due to their continuous exposure to both victims and perpetrators of trauma and violence. There is no experience of trauma that does not include a level of grief.  Though people respond to vicarious trauma in a number of ways, it is inevitable that their worldview will change. This change can be one of cynicism, anger, emotional detachment, etc. or it can mean a deeper appreciation for what is good. The outcome is in your control.

In this webinar, you will receive actionable tools to both prevent and heal trauma, gain a deeper understanding of how trauma affects the nervous system, and learn how resilience and growth can be the outcome of grief, loss, and trauma.

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Advocate/Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 


 

NACP and D-SAACP Advocates can earn 1 CEU by attending this webinar through the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP). Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Advocacy (NOVA) is dedicated to the professionalization, leadership and future of the victim advocacy field. To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
11 months ago
Thoughts about Self Care from Duane Bowers
During his webinar, Duane Bowers shared a number of great reminders during his webinar, Wellness as […]
1 year ago
Online Course: Understanding Trauma and Trauma Informed Responses
Trauma-Informed Work is providing service with the understanding that the client/witness/victim with […]
2 years ago
Trauma and Our Digital Selves
In a survey of 1000 Americans, it’s been found that on average, people check their phones 262 time […]
5 years ago
Self-Care for Justice Professionals
In 2012, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–V) rewrote the definition […]
7 years ago
Trauma Informed Work
  Trauma Informed Work is providing service with the understanding that the client/witness/v […]