Explaining the Unexplained: Investigating Child Fatalities for Successful Prosecutions

Registrations: 337

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 3rd, 2023 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Oct 3rd, 2023 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Oct 3rd, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Oct 3rd, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

When law enforcement is called to investigate the tragedy of an apparent unexplained, sudden death of a young child or infant, everyone is looking for answers. The quality of the investigation will be the determining factor on whether we can hold any one person or persons accountable for any abuse or neglect that may have caused the death. A systematic and collaborative approach to these investigations is critical to explaining the circumstances surrounding a fatal incident, excluding the possibility of accidents or non-criminal conduct, and providing the prosecution with the evidence and information necessary to charge and successfully convict offenders.

 

Click here for other Law Enforcement Webinars on the JCH Platform

Or, Click here for other Domestic Violence-related webinars.

Additional Resources
2 years ago
The Prosecution of Child Neglect Cases
Crimes are either by commission or omission. When it comes to cruelty to children, one can either co […]
3 years ago
Medical Aspects of Child Neglect
Neglect happens behind closed doors. The moment other people realize the level of neglect a parent o […]
5 years ago
Children as Witnesses in Domestic Violence Cases: Law Enforcement Considerations: An Interview with Hilary Weinberg and Patrick Beumler
According to government statistics between 3-4 million children ages 3-17 are at risk of exposure to […]
6 years ago
Investigating & Prosecuting Drowning Cases
This course discusses the challenges faced in the investigation and prosecution of drowning cases. […]
X