Domestic Violence Traumatic Brain Injuries: What Did We Learn from the COVID Pandemic?

Registrations: 1845

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Oct 21st, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Oct 21st, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Oct 21st, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Oct 21st, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Domestic Violence victims who were under COVID quarantine with their abusers found it even more difficult to reach out for help. As more and more people were trapped inside with their abusers, being able to ask for help became crucial to their safety.

    Shelters around the country have been and remain very full, especially given the need to reduce capacity to maintain social distancing. Add to that the fact that gun sales are setting records, advocates for Intimate Partner abuse victims are concerned things will only get worse.

    Reports of domestic abuse spiked by about 30% since France into lockdown in mid-March and local experts in Maricopa County have confirmed similar increases with the Mesa and Tempe Arizona Police Departments.

    During this webinar, experts from the medical and legal community in Maricopa County (Arizona) will share their observations about the COVID pandemic’s impact on Domestic Violence, as well as what criminal justice professionals can learn about Domestic Violence in light of the pandemic’s impact on society.

    Additional Resources
    6 months ago
    Disaster Without, Disaster Within: Natural Disasters and Family Violence
    There are risk factors for family violence. This includes financial conditions, level of unemploymen […]
    1 year ago
    Domestic Violence Comes to Work: Signs, Symptoms and Response
    Webinar Video Clip: Domestic Violence Comes to Work -- Signs Symptoms and Response  Too often […]
    1 year ago
    Traumatic Brain Injury: It’s Not Just about Football
    We worry about concussions due to sports injuries or car accidents but rarely do we consider if a do […]
    2 years ago
    Infographic: Strangulation in Intimate Partner Violence
    During her recent webinar, Victoria Riechers of Arizona Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violenc […]
    X