Decision Making and OODA Loop

Registrations: 1083

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, May 2nd, 2023 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, May 2nd, 2023 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, May 2nd, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, May 2nd, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

While the focus is on tactics such as de-escalation, physical techniques, and new control weapons, little training is applied to the area of decision-making.  Criminal justice professionals work in an environment of uncertainty and complexity.  Complexity can undo the best strategy by failing to be aware of changes in the environment, be it person, place, or thing.

Join us as we look at two models to assist the criminal justice professional make better decisions. The first model is the OODA Loop developed by Col. John Boyd and used by many law enforcement trainers.  During the webinar, we will explain how to use the OODA Loop as a thinking model for better decision-making.  The second is the Cynefin Sensemaking Model. Developed by David Snowden, the Cynefin framework helps criminal justice professionals make sense of complex and chaotic events.  Joining OODA and Cynefin together makes a winning combination for better decision-making.

 

Other Webinars with This Presenter

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Law Enforcement webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: Resolving Workplace Conflict Using Mediation Techniques
What do most people envision when they think of conflict? Hostility, raised voices, a racing heartbe […]
2 years ago
Emotional Intelligence and Making Better Decisions
We can all agree that decision making can be made more effective if there is some degree of rational […]
2 years ago
Decision-Making: Influences, Emotions, and “Facts” that Direct our Decisions
For most, the concept of decision-making involves deliberating various factors religiously to come u […]
2 years ago
Decision-Making: Maximizing Best Outcomes
Decision-making is one of those skills that we never really get proper training for. It is one thing […]
6 years ago
Keeping Out of Trouble with Good Decision Making: An Interview with Thom Dworak
A lot of things go into forming great police officers: recruits need to learn how to fire a weapon. […]