Conducting Forensic Interviews with Children: What Justice Professionals Need to Know

Registrations: 843

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Aug 25th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Aug 25th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Aug 25th, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Aug 25th, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Using a research-based forensic interview protocol is important for gathering as much accurate information as possible from children about crimes they have experienced or witnessed.  This webinar will provide an overview of a modified form of the National Institute of Child Health and Development (NICHD) interview protocol.  The pitfalls associated with asking compound, direct, suggestive, and leading questions will be discussed.

Participants will learn the following:

  • How building rapport and providing narrative practice influences how informative children are during interviews.
  • Techniques to increase children’s narrative production.
  • Techniques to minimize the risk of children adopting suggested information.
  • Key points that need to be addressed in forensic interviews.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 


 

 

This webinar was pre-approved for 1 CEU credit by the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP).  Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Forensic Interviews of Children: What Justice Professionals Need to Know
The best people to provide clarity in any case are the ones who actually experienced or witnessed it […]
1 year ago
Make the Call: Child Discipline or Abuse
Determining between physical discipline and child abuse essentially boils down to a balancing test b […]
1 year ago
Family Violence and the Abuse to Prison Pipeline for Girls
October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Rights4Girls is one of the organizations at the forefr […]
3 years ago
Introduction to the Inductive Interview System
Webinar Video Clip: Inductive Interviewing     Coercive and clever psychological […]
X