Concussions Caused by Domestic Violence

Registrations: 1697

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Aug 8th, 2023 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Tue, Aug 8th, 2023 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Tue, Aug 8th, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Tue, Aug 8th, 2023 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

When many of us hear the word “concussion,” our minds immediately jump to football and sports. This session will explore an under-recognized cause of concussions—domestic violence and other forms of violence and abuse. We will discuss brain function and what a concussion is, as well as identify some of the unique characteristics of concussions caused by domestic violence. We also will provide guidance on raising awareness on this issue with survivors of violence, as well as the evidence-based CARE framework to assist you in integrating knowledge of concussions into your services.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming Victim Advocate/Assistance webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

Or Click here to view and register for other upcoming Domestic Violence webinars and recordings on the JCH Platform.

 

 


 

 

NACP and D-SAACP Advocates can earn 1 CEU by attending this webinar through the National Advocate Credentialing Program (NACP)® and the DoD Sexual Assault Advocate Certification Program (D-SAACP). Founded in 1975, the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is the oldest national victim assistance organization of its type in the United States and is the recognized leader in victim advocacy, education and credentialing.  To learn more about NOVA, visit trynova.org.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Online Course: An Introduction to Trauma Informed Victim Advocacy
The way we support victims and survivors can shape how they recover and move on from the most challe […]
1 year ago
Invisible Epidemic: The Intersection of Traumatic Brain Injury, Strangulation and Domestic Violence (Part 1)
For every athlete that gets a concussion, 5,500 survivors of domestic violence sustain a brain injur […]
3 years ago
Domestic Violence and Dispatch
Dispatch serves as the intermediary between members of the community and the first responders who ca […]
Infographic Strangulation Thumbnail
6 years ago
Infographic: Investigating & Prosecuting Strangulation Cases
With history, research, and tracking, strangulation is becoming seen as a crime on par with every […]
9 years ago
Strangulation in Domestic Violence What More Can be Done
"Strangulation is one of the most lethal forms of domestic violence “(Strack and Gwinn, 2011). In […]