Combatting Misinformation: What Criminal Justice Agencies Need to Know

Registrations: 202

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 4th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Oct 4th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Oct 4th, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Oct 4th, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

International bots, troll farms, shepherds: they have been active on social media for more than a decade, but in recent divisive years, they’ve really come to the forefront for law enforcement agencies. While trying to manage an already difficult online landscape, police social media managers found themselves trying to cope with an avalanche of questionably legitimate social media accounts trying to sew discord in their communities. Participants will learn the origin and practices of fake accounts, how to identify bots and trolls and what to do about them, even when that misinformation spreads in your own organization.

 

Click here to view and register for other upcoming PIO, Social Media and Communications webinars on the JCH Platform.

Additional Resources
24 days ago
Online Course: Social Media and The Modern Communicator
The world as we know it is digital first -- social media profiles, digital audiences, and online eng […]
2 years ago
Thoughts about Agency Responses from Katie Nelson
Katie Nelson has an incredible way of sharing lots of terrific insights and advice during her webina […]
4 years ago
Breaking Your Own News: Telling Your Story on Your Own Terms
Technology helped a lot for people to keep in touch and stay updated whether it is with other people […]
4 years ago
Humanizing Your Agency through Social Media: An Interview with Kate Kimble
Social media can seem like a rather "fluffy" or unimportant activity -- especially when compared to […]
4 years ago
Crisis Communications During the Aurora Movie Theater Shooting
A few weeks ago, we went through the detailed timeline of the Century 16 Theatre Shooting in Aurora […]
X