Cognitive Coaching: Connecting Dots, Decision-making, Sensemaking and Critical Thinking

Registrations: 45

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 26th, 2024 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Thu, Sep 26th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Thu, Sep 26th, 2024 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Thu, Sep 26th, 2024 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Cognitive coaching plays a crucial role in teaching decision-making, sensemaking, and critical thinking skills. Cognitive coaching helps individuals enhance their decision-making abilities by guiding them through a structured process. This may involve identifying the decision to be made, gathering relevant information, considering alternatives, evaluating options, and making a well-informed choice.

 Sensemaking involves making sense of complex situations or problems. Cognitive coaching assists individuals in developing the skills to navigate ambiguity, analyze information, and construct meaning from diverse sources.

 Cognitive coaching is closely aligned with the development of critical thinking skills. Coaches encourage individuals to question assumptions, evaluate evidence, consider alternative viewpoints, and make reasoned judgments.

 Coaches can introduce problem-solving frameworks or models to provide a systematic approach to decision-making and critical thinking. These frameworks help individuals structure their thinking and make the problem-solving process more explicit. Cynefin, OODA, Red Teaming, and Mental Models are forms of problem-solving frameworks.

 Join us as we explore how the manager can coach their subordinate to develop a robust set of cognitive skills that are applicable across various situations and challenges. I am looking forward to training with you.

 

Other Webinars with this Presenter

 

Or Click here to view and register for other upcoming Leadership webinars on the JCH Platform 

 

Additional Resources
4 months ago
Thoughts on Teaching from Thom Dworak
Thom Dworak shared a number of great thoughts and insights during his webinar, Managing as Coach: Sh […]
3 years ago
EQ for Dispatchers
It’s been established that individuals can get trauma from repeated exposure to details of distres […]
4 years ago
EQ and You: Developing Your Emotional Intelligence
EQ has been found to be correlated to success. The better we are in managing our emotions, the bette […]
5 years ago
Lifetime Career Planning: An Interview with Thom Dworak
For many of us, our careers are part of identity. But just as many of us evolve over our lifespans, […]
X