Case Studies in Law Enforcement Encounters with Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders

Registrations: 366

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Nov 4th, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM ET
Thu, Nov 4th, 2021 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM CT
Thu, Nov 4th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM MT
Thu, Nov 4th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    The goal of this webinar is to provide an overview and analysis of interactions between law enforcement officers and individuals on the autism spectrum, their families, and caregivers.  The webinar will begin with a brief overview of ASD.  Then, cases based on actual events will be presented that are representative of the various types of encounters and outcomes that occur.  The emphasis will be on understanding how both the characteristics of ASD and the behavior of responding officers contributed to the resolution of the situation, and also on identifying specific recommendations for similar situations.

    By the end of the webinar, a participant should be able to:

    • Recognize the core characteristics of individuals with ASD
    • Identify how the characteristics of ASD impact interactions with LEO
    • Identify how common LEO responses may affect individuals with ASD
    • Describe specific strategies that can help increase the chance for successful interactions between LEP and individuals with ASD

     

    Other Webinars with this Speaker

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    Thoughts on Adaptation from Dr. Wes Dotson
    What a great reminder Dr. Wes Dotson shared during his webinar, Case Studies in Law Enforcement Enco […]
    1 year ago
    Wandering and Elopement in Children with Autism and NCMEC Resources
    Having a child go missing or runaway is highly stressful for parents. When the missing child has spe […]
    1 year ago
    Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders: Characteristic behaviors, challenges, and tips for successful interactions
    First responders and justice professionals deal with people from all walks of life and it makes all […]
    4 years ago
    Autism Awareness for Justice Professionals
    “Autism Awareness” has become an increasingly important topic as the numbers of people with this […]
    X