Canine Communication in the Field and Shelter

Registrations: 10

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Nov 11th, 2020 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET
Wed, Nov 11th, 2020 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CT
Wed, Nov 11th, 2020 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM MT
Wed, Nov 11th, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

The single most important skill for handling unfamiliar dogs safely, humanely, and successfully is the accurate observation and interpretation of canine body language. Great skills in ‘talking dog’ keep everyone safe and ensures that you can work efficiently when trying to get a dog to cooperate. In this webinar, Trish and Di will use pictures and videos to ‘develop your eye’ for canine body language so you can increase your understanding of what dogs are telling you.

You will learn:

  • Basic canine communication concepts, starting by looking at body parts, then at postures and movements.
  • The importance of context, arousal, and the influence of your own behaviour during interactions in the field
  • Basic and more complex canine body language

 

This is part of a two-part series:

 


The Australian Institute of Animal Management (AIAM) is the national peak body representing Local Government Animal Management Officers. The AIAM Committee consists of a wide range of professionals engaged in the various aspects of animal management.

AIAM seeks to support those engaged in the business of animal management, and the function itself, by providing training and information, opportunities for networking and collaboration, and by encouraging the use of best practice policy and practices. AIAM promotes consistency of legislation, consultation in the creation of legislation and workplace processes, and healthy relationships with external stakeholders and the community. AIAM supports cross-sector collaboration and co-design of projects and initiatives.

 


 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
What Dog Fighters Don’t Want You to Know: Considerations for the Justice Professional
Animal fighting is one of the most barbaric crimes out there. The scene and aftermath of such fights […]
1 year ago
Drowning in Dogs, Cats, Horses…
Animal hoarding cases are tedious – just the sheer number of animals in such cases and the logisti […]
1 year ago
Bad Dogs, Bad Dogs, Whatcha Gonna Do? The Designation and Regulation of Vicious/Dangerous Dogs
Videos of dogs doing smart, crazy and stupid things can make one think that they're angels. Most dog […]
1 year ago
Animal Cruelty Investigations and Prosecutions
Animal cruelty is now recognized as a legitimate crime and has been gaining more and more support fr […]
X