Beyond CIT: Establishing Mental Health Support Teams for Law Enforcement Agencies

Registrations: 444
Cost: Free to Attend the Live Webinar Event

If you can't make the live event, become a member to watch all recordings.


Date/Time by Timezone
Tue, Jun 18th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jun 18th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jun 18th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jun 18th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT
By reserving your seat, you are agreeing to all aspects of our Legal Liability Waiver and give consent to Justice Clearinghouse to use this information to send additional communications as described in the Privacy Policy below. You agree to indemnify and hold JCH and the presenter harmless from any lawsuits, damages, injuries, losses or claims arising from your decisions as to how to use this information.

Responding to those experiencing mental health challenges or addiction requires a unique set of skills that many in law enforcement simply don’t have. Knowing the challenges facing their jurisdiction, the Tucson Police Department developed a unique approach in order to support their community’s needs.

This session provides a “50,000 Foot” overview of the mental health and substance use disorder programs housed by the Tucson PD. In addition to learning about federal funding opportunities available to visit Tucson, Arizona to learn more about this innovative program, we’ll also discuss:

  • the Substance Use Disorder Deflection Program – which offers 24/7/365  transportation to on-demand treatment and/or detox.
  • the Co-Responder Program – which provides clinicians for on-scene responses, followup, case management triage, and assistance with deflecting individuals into treatment instead of the jail,
  • the Peer Navigator Program – comprised of uniquely trained team members with lived experience in substance use and/or mental health issues who help provide “wrap-around services” for deflected individuals and training to law enforcement personnel.
  • as well as an overview of our Learning Site Program.
Additional Resources
5 years ago
Heroin & Opioids A to Z
According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), the United States is in the midst of an opioid o […]
6 years ago
Managing the Fear and Panic Response: An Interview with Amy Morgan
Whether it's a standoff with a suspect or an intense conversation with your boss, high-pressure situ […]
6 years ago
Recognizing Mental Health Disorders in Others – An Interview with Amy Morgan
People use terms like "psychopath" or "manic" or "depressed" to describe others - often forgetting t […]
9 years ago
Mental Health Court Teams, Building Trust for Effective Collaboration
  Do you want to learn effective skills for facilitating collaborative teams? Are you lookin […]