Avoiding Teeth and Bullets: Safely Interacting with Animals as a Law Enforcement Officer

Registrations: 16

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, May 4th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, May 4th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, May 4th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, May 4th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    From dogs and cats to wildlife and livestock, law enforcement personnel often encounter animals on a weekly, if not daily basis. The challenges of carrying out law enforcement duties when there is an animal component can be challenging, stressful and dangerous. Understanding things like animal behavior and body language, as well as various control techniques can make these instances safer and allow law enforcement to carry out the task at hand. Whether the assigned call for duty is directly related to the animal or the animal is peripheral, understanding some basic animal handling techniques and animal behavior can be the difference between closing out a call and moving on to the next or ending up in the emergency room.

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming NACA  webinars on the JCH Platform.

     


     

    The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

     

     

     


     

     

    Additional Resources
    6 months ago
    Thoughts about Victims from Michelle Welch
    Michelle Welch shared incredible insights and advice during her webinar, "In Other Words... How Do Y […]
    1 year ago
    Impact of an Officer Involved Shooting
    Law enforcement has always been an adrenaline-driven field, it is the nature of the job. Some of the […]
    1 year ago
    Bad Dogs, Bad Dogs, Whatcha Gonna Do? The Designation and Regulation of Vicious/Dangerous Dogs
    Videos of dogs doing smart, crazy and stupid things can make one think that they're angels. Most dog […]
    2 years ago
    “Officer Why Did You Shoot My Dog?” The Dynamics of Officer Involved Shootings of Dogs
    72.9 million US households report to having at least one pet – that means one in every 5 American […]
    X